TIG welder upgrade?

maui

Big Bore diggidy mayhem
I've been kicking the can down the road for a couple years not on upgrading my Dailarc HF-P. It's good machine but when I look at what a modern machine can do it's no comparison. It's also like 600 lbs and the size of a small hippo.

I do like the Miller welders, the blue goes with my...other ones.

My old TIG isn't even really a square wave. It has really basic settings and actually does a pretty good job. If I turn it up to 11 it says 310 amps on the output though I'm told thats not really the case. It has Reverse/straight polarity, AC/DC, 3 stage amp range selector and dail, High freq continuous/start/off connected to remote amperage (foot pedal for those who don't know) and is a water cooled. It's a brut and if I need to weld 5/8 plate it's gonna get it done.

I want something though for thin material, .050 aluminum or steel etc. My machine does that stuff but it could be much better. What I like about the new ones is the ramp up, ramp down and pulse features.

Anyone running this stuff? Like/Dont like etc?

i have been looking at the same thing honestly...and i cant keep from coming back to the TWO lines of harbor freight welders offered now. they seem to be direct copies of far more expensive stuff, for 1/3 the price.

both the vulcan series and the titanium series get crazy good reviews when compared to miller/lincoln/everlast/etc for the hobbyist... I cant justify throwing down 2000 bucks for something ill use once every 2 or 3 months...but at the 799 price points...its far more attractive to me..and a 3 year warranty should ensure any major issue will surface while there is time to get it replaced.

there are a ton of youtube channels for welder guys (the fab series is great) who do nothing but weld with different welders. (and if you dont care about the money, the fronius systems seem to be the cats meow).