Felling Trees-Sort of Safely

Snail

BAMF. No. Really. As BAMF as they get.
I'd like to try passing on some cutting tips, and precautions. Before I start, I have 54 years experience logging, and 52 years cutting professionally. I wont mislead anyone intentionally, if you have legitimate questions ask.

Theres lots of ways to get hurt, ill try to explain them one at a time, over a period of time.

BARBER CHAIR

One of the most frequent accidents occurs when the tree rips and kicks back into the cutter removing nose, eyebrows, breaking bones, etc. Worse it can wreck your saw.

The classic example is when the cutter is felling a moderate to heavy leaner, with the lean. As the cutter cuts the back cut, the tree rips.

Theres several solutions, depending on species and circumstances, the best all round solution is to wrap a short chain around the tree, tightly, a comfortable reach higher than your head. Secure the the loose end so it doesn't get in your saw. 3/8 chain with a grab hook.

Paul----define for the brethren "Widow Maker"? :)

Also----I do not do it on any of my many 2 cycle or 4 cycle small engines but specifically for saws, bigger ones, say over 70cc would you ever use fuel that contains ANY ethanol?

Ninjaman12R

I'm too drunk to taste this chicken
I think I have shed more blood on trees, than any of my other work efforts. Trees like to play unpredictable tricks on non professionals.

-